OM Has Four Quarters

There are four major sounds that comprise the Blessed Sacred Syllable OM prayer.

AH, UU, MM, and silence. Yes, that is right – silence is the fourth quarter. Why is this? According to Swami Sivananda and many other prominent yoga and meditation masters, the energies that manifest during AH, UU, MM actually merge into the Infinite Silence of the Divine Self, if you will. AH merges into UU. Then, UU merges into MM. Finally, MM merges into Transcendental Silence and Supreme Spiritual Peace.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s